Request

See you soon at the SCHWANEN!

emanuel@biohotel-schwanen.com 
0043 5514 2133

  • :
    Reservation between 11.30am - 1.30pm & 5.30pm - 8.30pm. Tuesday & Wednesday closed!
  •  
en | de
#wildeweibergarten
Arrow Down

GARDEN

For two years I did not give up on my dream of having our own vegetable garden, designed according to the needs of our #wildeweiberküche kitchen team at the SCHWANEN.

SEED

All of this project was “learning by doing” for me. After all, I had no clue what gardening was all about. Luckily, I knew the right people: Katharina and Johannes from Switzerland.

The two of them have started a pretty amazing urban gardening project in Zurich. In a special crash course they taught me just about everything I needed to know about gardening. About crop rotation, equipment and appliances, where to buy seeds and an irrigation system. All that stuff you need on a daily basis.

SOW

The idea with the Duroc pigs was Johannes’, and it turned into reality only a few phone calls later. For two weeks, the Metzler family from nearby Egg lent us 5 Duroc pigs as leased laborers. They dug over and aerated our soil, ate all the grubs and weeds and fertilized the ground. Then we put on humus and compost and sowed the first seeds at the end of April. And then came Christoph, another godsend for me. A young guy from our neighbour town of Bezau, son of an organic farmer and a really awesome guy. After spending a gap year in Ecuador he has worked with Arche Noah, an Austrian company dedicated to the preservation of crop diversity. And now he’s here – the gardener in our Wild Women’s garden (#wildweibergarten).

The freshest of all ingredients – from the garden to the plate.

HARVEST

The field has about 180m2 and gives us chard, bok choy, radishes, runner beans, cucumbers, zucchini, carrots, honeydew melons, arugula, salads and much more. Watching things grow before harvesting them is pretty exciting! The vegetables are featured in our menu in various ways: in our special garden menu, as appetizers, amuse-bouche or cool side dishes. From the garden to the plate – this is as fresh as it gets. Enjoy!

HERBS AND CHESTNUTS IN THE GARDEN

Re-designing the herbal garden on the east side of the SCHWANEN was my first gardening project. I built a dry stone wall, planted raspberry bushes and many of Hildegard’s favorite herbs and sanded the wooden tables with my own hands. I liked the work (and the results!), somehow it felt so natural, so in harmony with my surroundings and the spirit of the SCHWANEN. I was sure our guests would like it as well. It took me two weeks of my spring break, but it was so worth it.

more

Anfrage

Bis demnächst im SCHWANEN!

emanuel@biohotel-schwanen.com
0043 5514 2133

  • :
    Reservierungen zwischen 11.30 - 13.30 & 17.30 - 20.30 möglich. Dienstag & Mittwoch Ruhetag!
  •  
en | de
#wildeweibergarten
Arrow Down

GARTEN

2 Jahre hab ich nicht locker gelassen mit meinem Wunsch nach einem eigenen Gemüsegarten, speziell ausgelegt auf die #wildeweiberküche im SCHWANEN.

Keim

Das Ganze war learning by doing für mich. Ich hatte ja keine Ahnung vom Gärtnern. Gottseidank kenne ich zwei Schweizer, genauer gesagt Katharina und Johannes.

Die beiden betreiben ein wunderbares urban gardening Projekt in Zürich. Sie haben mir in einem Crashkurs so ziemlich alles beigebracht, was man über die Gartenarbeit wissen muss. Von Fruchtfolgen, Gerätschaften, wo man überhaupt Samen und eine Bewässerungsanlage kauft und das ganze daily business eben.

SÄEN

Die Idee mit den Duroc Schweinen kam von Johannes – und ein paar Telefonate später war sie schon umgesetzt: Um den Boden umzugraben waren 5 Duroc Schweine von den Metzlers aus Egg für 2 Wochen als Leiharbeiter_innen bei uns beschäftigt. Sie haben den Boden gelockert, Engerlinge und Unkrautwurzeln rausgefressen und gedüngt. Dann kamen Humus und Komposterde drauf, bevor wir Ende April die erste Aussaat machten. Und mit der ersten Aussaat kam Christoph, der nächste Glücksfall für mich. Ein junger Bezauer, Sohn eines Biobauern und ein richtig cooler Typ. Er war über ein Jahr im Freiwilligendienst in Ecuador und dann bei der Arche Noah in Niederösterreich – jetzt ist er der Gärtner im #wildeweibergarten.

Frischeste Lebensmittel
direkt vom Garten
auf den Teller.

ERNTEN

Der rund 180 m2 große Acker versorgt uns mit Mangold, Pak Choi, Radieschen, Stangenbohnen, Gurken, Zucchini, Karotten, Honigmelonen, Rucola, Schnittsalaten und vielem mehr. Der Prozess des Wachsens und Erntens ist für uns neu und ziemlich spannend! Wir featuren das Gemüse auf unterschiedliche Weise – in unserem Gartenmenü, als Vorspeise, Gruß aus der Küche oder als coole Beilage. Frischeste Lebensmittel direkt vom Garten auf den Teller. An Guata!

KRÄUTER UND KASTANIEN IM GASTGARTEN

Die Umgestaltung des Kräutergartens an der Ostseite des SCHWANEN war mein erstes Gartenprojekt . Von der Trockensteinlesemauer über die Himbeerstauden und zahlreiche Hildegard-Gewürze für die Küche bis zu den abgeschliffenen Holztischen habe ich alles selbst von Hand gemacht und umgesetzt. Mir gefiel das Werkeln und was dabei herauskam. Irgendwie fühlte es sich naturverbunden an und passte zum SCHWANEN. Ich war mir sicher, dass es unseren Gästen auch gefallen würde. Zwei Wochen Springbreak gingen drauf, aber das war es wert.

mehr erfahren