Request

See you soon at the SCHWANEN!

emanuel@biohotel-schwanen.com 
0043 5514 2133

  • :
    Reservation between 11.30am - 1.30pm & 5.30pm - 8.30pm. Tuesday & Wednesday closed!
  •  
en | de
RESTAURANT
Arrow Down

Restaurant

The dining room – or Esszimmer in German – is the very heart of the SCHWANEN. It’s where guests eat, meet and talk. To us, it’s where we work, invite and entertain our guests.

At home in the dining room

Our restaurant’s name is Esszimmer – dining room, because I want to welcome our guests as if we were at my place. That’s it – very simple. The dining room is light and fresh and airy. Oakwood floors, benches, walls and ceilings in natural fir, chairs in maple wood. I think we created a room with a really nice vibe. I am always searching for new ideas to improve its atmosphere – after all, it is also our dining room.

Corey Lee, my partner at Benu in San Francisco, perfectly describes our philosophy:

anfragen

Food, guest service and hotellerie is identity – it’s the most revealing thing about you, about your culture, where you come from, how you live, what’s important to you.

Corey Lee of Benu, San Francisco

Leaps in time in
our Wälderstube

Following expert advice is not always the best idea. Sometimes, listening to your gut feeling is the better thing to do. So did my Säle (dialect expression for grandmother) Katharina Moosbrugger, who taught me this lesson (and many more). Luckily she knew about the value of our century-old traditional living/dining room, the Stube, and the wine cellar right underneath. When our house was revamped in the 1960s, she resolutely saved this gem against the will of advisers and architects.
Walking over the creaking walnut and oak wood floors is a one-of-a-kind experience. The tables are made from cherry, pear and maple trees from Bizau. Generations of people have gathered around them to eat and work. Now it is our job to let this room exude its historic charm – while serving dishes that represent the spirit of our time.
 
Separator

Menu

At the moment we like eat …

Separator

WILD WOMEN MENU

This multi-course menu was given its name when one of our guests told my mother: “Wow, you really are some wild women, preparing four different multi-course menus for your guests!” The idea was born when my parents came to visit me in New York and the concept has been a huge success ever since. We now offer our WILD WOMEN menu with 5 or 7 courses, on request also with wine pairings (done by me!)

5-course menu 75,00 + Wine pairings 39,00

Available daily, except Tuesday, Wednesday and Sunday during lunchtime. Prior order required. We are happy to accommodate special dietary needs (vegetarian, food allergies, etc.) if you let us know in advance.

reserve

 

Good vibrations in our Herrenzimmer

In a household run by women, there has to be a safe place for men only: The Herrenzimmer (Gentlemen’s Room). Of course I’m kidding. Next to the amazing female chefs in our family were a bunch of very successful entrepreneurs: The so-called Käsgrafen (cheese counts) of the Bregenz Forest who traded cheese throughout the Austro-Hungarian monarchy. One of them was my three-times great-grandfather Gallus, who had bought the SCHWANEN for his son Jakob – from one of my mother’s ancestors. You see, no matter how you look at it – we are the SWANS through and through.

The Herrenzimmer is also the first room that I could put my personal spin on. We had vintage chairs from the 1950s and 60s revamped in new fabrics and colors by Italian designers from the Milan area. It is a place where our guests come to chat or get inspired. Have a seat on the historic sofa with a book from Antonia’s library or a magazine, meet new people, have a pre- or after-dinner drink or just sit, relax and let your mind wander.

Herbs and chestnuts
in the garden

Am I more of an urbanite or is this rural area deep in the Bregenz Forest the right place for me? Re-designing the herbal garden on the east side of the SCHWANEN was my first gardening project. I built a dry stone wall, planted raspberry bushes and many of Hildegard’s favorite herbs and sanded the wooden tables with my own hands. I liked the work (and the results!), somehow it felt so natural, so in harmony with my surroundings and the spirit of the SCHWANEN. I was sure our guests would like it as well. It took me two weeks of my spring break, but it was so worth it.

The garden turned out well, and every year we aim to further improve it. The chestnut trees have grown significantly already, spreading their branches over our garden tables and giving the most wonderful shadow. In our garden you can enjoy our food while witnessing life in a little village: people going to church or Xaver on his bike, cycling by every day at three o’clock.

In the meantime, I have found even more joy in gardening. Let me tell you about that here.

anfragen

Anfrage

Bis demnächst im SCHWANEN!

emanuel@biohotel-schwanen.com
0043 5514 2133

  • :
    Reservierungen zwischen 11.30 - 13.30 & 17.30 - 20.30 möglich. Dienstag & Mittwoch Ruhetag!
  •  
en | de
RESTAURANT
Arrow Down

Restaurant

Das Restaurant ist die Mitte im Schwanen. Hier isst man, unterhält sich, frühstückt. Und wir arbeiten hier, laden ein und sind Gastgeber.

Zuhause wie im Esszimmer

Unser Restaurant heißt Esszimmer. Ganz einfach deshalb, weil ich unsere Gäste so empfangen möchte wie bei mir zuhause. Mehr braucht es nicht. Das Esszimmer ist leicht, frisch und hell. Eichenparkett, Bänke, Wände und Decken aus naturbelassener Weißtanne, Stühle aus Ahorn. Ich glaube, wir haben einen Raum mit einem guten Vibe geschaffen. Immer wieder suche ich nach neuen Ideen, um die Atmosphäre zu verbessern, schließlich ist es ja auch unser Esszimmer.

Corey Lee, mit dem ich in San Francisco das Restaurant „Benu“ geleitet habe, beschreibt unsere gemeinsame Philosophie auf den Punkt genau.

anfragen

Food, guest service and hotellerie is identity – it’s the most revealing thing about you, about your culture, where you come from, how you live, what’s important to you.

Corey Lee of Benu, San Francisco

Zeitsprünge
in der Wälderstube

Nicht immer ist es ratsam, den Experten zu folgen. Manchmal lohnt es sich viel mehr, dem eigenen Gespür zu vertrauen. So wie mein Säle (Großmutter) Katharina Moosbrugger, die mir neben anderen Tugenden genau das vermittelt hat. Glücklicherweise hat sie den Wert der jahrhundertealten Bregenzerwälder Stube und des darunter liegenden Weinkellers erkannt. Beim Umbau in den 1960er-Jahren rettete sie dieses Prunkstück mit überzeugtem Widerstand trotz des Erneuerungsstrebens und des Abratens von Beiräten und Architekten.
In dieser Stube über den knarrenden Parkett aus Nuss und Eiche zu gehen, ist ein Erlebnis für sich. Die Tische sind aus Bizauer Kirschenholz, Birne und Ahorn. Generationen von Menschen haben hier schon gespeist und gearbeitet, jetzt liegt es an uns, diesem Raum seinen historischen Charme zu lassen und zugleich Gerichte zu servieren, die mit der Zeit gehen.
 
Separator

Speisekarte

Zur Zeit gibt’s bei uns …

Separator

WILDE WEIBER MENÜ

Den Namen verdankt das WILDE WEIBER Menü einem Gast, der zu meiner Mutter sagte: „Eor sand ja wilde Wibor, für 4 Personen 4 verschiedene Menüs zu kochen.“ Die Idee ist während eines Besuchs meiner Eltern bei mir in New York entstanden und war in Bizau von Anfang an ein Volltreffer. Nun gibt es das WILDE WEIBER Menü in 5  Gängen, auf Wunsch auch mit Weinbegleitung von mir!

5 Gänge 75,00 + Weinbegleitung 39,00

Täglich, außer Dienstag, Mittwoch und Sonntag Mittag. Nur mit Voranmeldung. Gerne berücksichtigen wir Allergien oder vegetarische Lebensweise bei Voranmeldung.

Reservieren

Good Vibrations im Herrenzimmer

Bei soviel Weiberwirtschaft braucht es auch ein Herrenzimmer. Nein, der Name kommt eigentlich daher, dass wir in der Familie nicht nur gute Köchinnen, sondern auch erfolgreiche Unternehmer haben. Die so genannten Bregenzerwälder Käsgrafen exportierten ihren Käse in die gesamte österreich-ungarische Monarchie. Einer von ihnen war mein Ur-Ur-Ur-Großvater Gallus, der den SCHWANEN für seinen Sohn Jakob einem Ahnen meiner Mutter abgekauft hat. Ihr seht schon, wir sind einfach DIE SCHWÄNE, egal, aus welcher Perspektive man es betrachtet.

Im Herrenzimmer konnte ich erstmals einem ganzen Raum meine Handschrift geben. Wir haben 1950er- und 1960er-Jahre Vintage-Sessel von italienischen Designern aus der Mailänder Umgebung mit lässigen Farben und Stoffen komplett neu aufgearbeitet. Es ist ein Ort für Dialog und Inspiration geworden. Entspannen auf dem historischen Bregenzerwälder Kanapée mit Literatur aus Antonias Bibliothek oder mit aktuellen Zeitungen. Kontakte knüpfen, Aperitif, Digestif, Seele baumeln lassen oder einfach nur relaxen.

Kräuter und Kastanien
im Garten

Bin ich ein Stadtmensch, oder passe ich doch in diese ländliche Gegend im hinteren Bregenzerwald?

Die Umgestaltung des Gartens war für mich, im nachhinein gesehen, sicherlich eine therapeutische Übung. Von der Trockensteinlesemauser über die Himbeerstauden und zahlreiche Hildegard-Gewürze für die Küche bis zu den abgeschliffenen Holztischen habe ich alles selbst von Hand gemacht und umgesetzt. Mir gefiel das Werkeln und was dabei heraus kam. Irgendwie fühlte es sich naturverbunden an und passte zum SCHWANEN. Ich war mir sicher, dass es unseren Gästen auch gefallen würde. Die ganze Aktion war nur mit Hilfe meiner Eltern und zahlreichen Freunden möglich. Zwei Wochen Springbreak gingen drauf, aber das war es wert.

Der Garten ist gut geworden, wir versuchen jedes Jahr was zu verbessern. Die inzwischen breit gewachsenen Kastanien breiten ihre Äste weit über die Tische aus und geben den besten Schatten. Im Garten sitzend kann man sowohl unsere Küche genießen als auch ein Stück weit am Dorfleben teilnehmen, wenn man die Kirchgänger beobachtet oder den Xaver, den man jeden Tag um drei vorbeiradeln sieht.

anfragen

 

Vom Klang am Tisch –
Keramik aus Meisterhand

Bei meinem ersten Besuch im Restaurant Benu in San Francisco, meinem späteren Arbeitsplatz, war ich vollauf begeistert vom Geschirr dort. Corey Lee entwickelt für neue Gerichte & Signature Dishes eigene Teller. Diese stehen nicht versteckt im Schrank, sondern werden als Stylingelemente im Raum präsentiert.

mehr erfahren